Reset Search
 

 

Article

SecureStack Configuration Fall-back procedure for Remote Config changes

« Go Back

Information

 
TitleSecureStack Configuration Fall-back procedure for Remote Config changes
Objective
After a configuration change, by default the change is immediately saved to non-volatile memory (NVRAM) so survives a switch reboot.
For remote changes in which a configuration error could result in a management lock-out, would like a switch reboot to restore the previously working configuration (not saving the error), thereby executing remote configuration recovery.
Environment
SecureStack
C5-Series
Procedure
This can be achieved by use of the 'set snmp persistmode' command as outlined in KB 5482 (http://bit.ly/1qhJj1e).

'set snmp persistmode auto' is the default, which fairly rapidly saves any configuration changes to the unit and to the stack.
'set snmp persistmode manual' does no automatic saving of configuration changes, but instead relies on the 'save config' command to do this.
This only affects whether or not the change will survive a system reset. In all cases the change is applied to the running configuration.

When a configuration change is to occur but it is difficult or impossible to management-access the equipment by any means other than ethernet, and there is someone on site who is willing to power cycle the equipment upon request:
  1. Issue the command 'set snmp persistmode manual'.
  2. Make the desired configuration change which could put inband contact in jeopardy.
  3. Verify that everything works as it should.
  4. If it does not work correctly, then have on-site personnel power cycle the unit, which will revert it to just before step 1 was exected.
  5. If it works correctly, then "promote" the configuration change by issuing the command 'set snmp persistmode auto'.

If on the other hand the user leaves 'set snmp persistmode manual' active, then the 'save config' command can be issued whenever a configuration change is to be promoted to production status. Here the user is responsible for manually saving configurations that it would be painful to lose.

Use whichever procedure seems least likely to inadvertently lose an already-validated configuration if and when a unit is rebooted for any reason at any time (perhaps months after the configuration change was made).
Additional notes

Feedback

 

Was this article helpful?


   

Feedback

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful.

Characters Remaining: 255